About Councilmember Navarro

I serve as the Council Vice-President and the Montgomery County Councilmember representing District 4. I am the chair of the Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee and also serve on the Health and Human Services Committee.

Get The Latest News

Sign up to receive latest news

August 30, 2010

Montgomery County Police Begin SRO program for 2010-2011 School Year

Beginning with this new school year, Montgomery County Police are initiating a program utilizing nine “School Resource Officers” to serve as liaisons with high schools in their police districts. School Resource Officers (SROs) reflects the name that is more commonly used nationwide for officers who regularly work with schools.

In this new program, SROs are expected to handle the following responsibilities:

• Assist school staff members to enhance safety within their assigned schools and serve as liaisons between the department and the school staff for police-related concerns and incidents.

• Respond to incidents occurring in and around their assigned schools during their shift hours.

• Set up regular meetings with parents, teachers, principals, other school administrators, and students to discuss issues of concern within the school.

• Act as a resource for and assist with emergency preparedness, as well as safety awareness education geared to high school students.

• Serve as a point of contact to deliver police department programs on such topics as conflict resolution and mediation, drug and alcohol awareness, violence prevention, gang awareness, and crime prevention.

• Assist with traffic safety and enforcement activities in and around their assigned school areas.

School Resource Officers will work out of their district stations. The nine officers are being assigned as follows:

1st District - Officer Maureen Connelly

Churchill H.S.
Rockville H.S.
Quince Orchard H.S.
Richard Montgomery H.S.
Wootton H.S.

2nd District - Officer Arnold Aubrey

Walt Whitman H.S.
Walter Johnson H.S.
Bethesda-Chevy Chase H.S.

3rd District – Officer Roslyn Mills and Officer Rodney Barnes

Northwood H.S.
Paint Branch H.S.
Blair H.S.
Springbrook H.S.

4th District – Officer Anna Walker, Officer Diane Henderson, and Officer Brett Mavritte

Einstein H.S.
Blake H. S.
Kennedy H.S.
Sherwood H.S.
Magruder H.S.
Wheaton H.S.

5th District – Officer Russell Larson

Clarksburg H.S.
Damascus H. S.
Northwest H.S.
Seneca Valley H.S.
Poolesville H.S.

6th District – Officer John Witherspoon

Watkins Mill H.S.
Gaithersburg H.S. (Gaithersburg Police are the lead agency, MCPD provides support.)

These SRO’s will begin their new assignments on the first day of school for Montgomery County students, August 30. This program replaces the previous Educational Facilities Officers program.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Media Services Division, 240-773-5030


Post a Comment